The Seat of Magnetism

July 7, 2009

My partner Sue has a magnetic seat cushion.

It’s not the kind of magnet that you find in a compass or in science class. The thing has small magnetic plates fitted into little pockets.

I don’t remember where she got it. She’s pretty big into this homeopathic healing stuff, and herbs and whatnot.

Every morning she mixes us both a drink cobbled together with apple cider vinegar, aloe vera, vitamins, minerals, and I don’t know what else.

I don’t want to know.

What I do know is that I haven’t had the flu or even bad colds since I started drinking the damned stuff. I figure it must be really good for me because it tastes godawful.

The magnetic seat cushion rests in her recliner, and covers the seat and back. It’s in a nice dark material and doesn’t look weird or anything, and doesn’t disrupt my wristwatch or make paperclips slide across the floor, so I guess it’s not a particularly powerful magnetic field.

I can’t say that it works. She sits in it and feels OK, but then, there’s no way to know how she’d feel if she didn’t sit in it. Maybe if she was twins, and we had two recliners.

When she’s not in it, the cats compete to see which of them can curl up on it first. I don’t know what it does for cats, but they sure do sleep well when they’re there, and they’re pretty grumpy when you make them move.

I sat in it one evening when she was out of town on business.

I can’t say that it did anything one way or the other. My joints didn’t hurt when I got up, but then, they weren’t hurting when I sat down.

I probably won’t repeat the experiment, though. For about an hour afterward, my needle kept pointing North.

==============================.

© 2009 Marsh Creek Media, Gettysburg, Pa.
Burger to Go” is a product of me and my company, Marsh Creek Media and, as such, I am solely responsible for its content.
Check out the two “Burger to Go” blogsites:
https://burger2go.wordpress.com/
http://burger2goclassics.wordpress.com/

2 Responses to “The Seat of Magnetism”

  1. Claire said

    My sister puts magnets directly on her skin and says they take away pain. Must be something to it. I thought my sister was alone in this but now I know there are others. Whatever works!

  2. judecowell said

    Hilarious, Terry!

    Having tried magnetic insoles from the Nikkan Co i can say that they seem to have over-acted for me – i can only wear them occasionally. They feel good when i do though, and not everyone would have the same experience with them.

    Perhaps anyone’s reaction depends on which metals their systems are riddled with or if they’re prone to consuming steel magnolias on a regular basis.

    Your Old Pal, Jude

Leave a Reply

